De Smet named small community of the year

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

De Smet Tuesday was named Small Community of the Year at the Governor’s Economic Development Conference in Sioux Falls.


De Smet won the award because in the past year it has attracted three new companies to the community and helped six others expand, creating some 50 new jobs. In addition, the Young Guns organization was formed and that group of some 60 members has taken the lead in raising much of the more than $3 million needed to construct a community-wellness center.


Gov. Dennis Daugaard, in introducing De Smet as the small community winner, said attracting American Engineered Products, Sheyenne-Dakota and Dakotaland Federal Credit Union and helping six other businesses expand created some 50 new jobs in De Smet.


“That’s the equivalent of creating 7,000 new jobs in a city like Sioux Falls,” Daugaard said.


“This is a really big award for the Little Town on the Prairie,” De Smet Development Corporation President Tim Aughenbaugh said as he and Mayor Gary Wolkow accepted the award.


Aughenbaugh was quick to praise everyone involved in moving the community forward, but he noted that Rita Anderson, De Smet’s development director, and her part-time assistant, Angie Baszler, played key roles in making the award possible.


“This entire thing is a people game,” Aughenbaugh said. “The percentage of people you need to be involved is high in a community the size of De Smet.”


Dale Blegen

Editor and Publisher

The De Smet News

Category: (none)