Taylin Albrecht elected state FFA President

Friday, April 25, 2014

For the full story visit www.desmetnews.com and open the link to our eEdition.


Thirty-one members of the De Smet FFA chapter competed in the State FFA Convention in Brookings April 6-8.


Among the highlights, De Smet FFA alumnus Taylin Albrecht was selected as state FFA president for 2014-15. Albrecht is currently attending South Dakota State University majoring in animal Science.


“Jesse Geib was the last president from De Smet in 2003-4,” said De Smet FFA adviser Dave Vanderwal. “Taylin is the 12th officer we’ve had.”


He said that students can run for offices as high school seniors and up to two years after they graduate. Most commonly, they are seniors in high school or college freshmen.


Andrea Schubloom took first place in the goat production proficiency area and will advance to the National FFA convention next fall.


Schubloom was also part of the De Smet livestock-judging team, which 

placed second. Her teammates were Martina Albrecht, Matt Larson and Julianna Albrecht. Albrecht placed first in the individual judging competition, but Vanderwal said only teams advance to the national competition in this event.


Julianna Albrecht and classmate Maria Huntimer both received their state FFA degrees. Among the requirements for the degree are at least two years of active FFA membership, completion of two years of agricultural coursework above the ninth-grade level, completion of 300 hours of work outside of scheduled class time and participation in five or more FFA events.


De Smet veterinary-science team members Hallie Tolzin, Allison Larson and Maria Johnson placed 10th in Brookings, as did the horse-judging team of Makayla Fox, Makayla Dedeyne, Maria Huntimer and Gianna Janssen.


The floriculture team placed in the bronze area. Team members were Katie Schipper, Cylie Pastian, Amanda Gehm and Annie Schipper.


David Tritle


The De Smet News

Category: (none)