Local election petitions filed

Wednesday, April 06, 2016

For the full story, visit www.desmetnews.com and open the link to our eEdition.


In District 22, which includes all of Beadle and Kingsbury Counties, Democrat Chuck Groth is challenging Republican incumbent Jim White of Huron for the lone state senate seat.


Three Democrats, Carmen Dannenbring of De Smet, Joan Wollschlager of Lake Preston, and Darrell Raschke of Huron, and two Republicans, Bob Glanzer and Roger Chase, both of Huron, have filed petitions for House seats in District 22.


Rep. Peggy Gibson, D-Huron, has reached her term limit after four terms. Rep. Dick Werner R- formerly of Huron, and his wife Suzanne, have moved out of District 22 to the family farm near Herreid. He is running for the House this year in District 23.


In the Kingsbury County Auditor’s race, Jennifer Barnard-R is challenging incumbent Amy Wilkinson-R. Both candidates are from De Smet.


County Treasurer Elaine Blachford, R-Lake Preston, and County Coroner Charles Johnson, R-Arlington, are both unopposed.


County Commissioners who had to file petitions this year are Shelley Nelson, R-Lake Preston, District 2; Delmer Wolkow, R-De Smet, District 3; and Roger Walls, R-Iroquois, District 4.  None of the commission seats are contested.


Former Hamlin County District Attorney Gary Schumaker, R-De Smet, is challenging incumbent Kingsbury County States Attorney Gregg Gass, I-De Smet.  Since they running under two different political parties, there will be no primary election for Kingsbury County State’s Attorney. That race will be decided Nov. 8 in the general election.


South Dakota voters must be registered by May 23 to vote in the primary election.


Donna Palmlund

Staff Writer

The De Smet News

Category: (none)